A Vibrant Ensemble of Award-Winning Instrumentalists


Signum Classics

GM cover small

Buy this CD

Newly Released: January 2011

Rated 'OUTSTANDING' in International Record Review, March 2011. 
For review, ">click here
other reviews

'Kernis: Goblin Market' (Signum Records)
 Mary King, Narrator

Aaron Jay Kernis: Goblin Market (Premiere recording)
Aaron Jay Kernis: Invisible Mosaic II (Premiere recording)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Lou Harrison: For Strings

Lou Harrison For Strings

Buy this CD
  • Suite No. 2 for Strings
  • Suite for Symphonic Strings
  • Concerto for Pipa with String Orchestra

As the three pieces on this CD show, Harrison ranged far and wide. There are re-creations of medieval dances, strenuous fugues, slow movements with that wide-open prairie feel of Aaron Copland, and a sinuous, plaintive melodicism born out of Harrison's long study of Asian music. In the two Suites written in 1948 and 1960 there are moments of dark complication, but in later years he achieved a marvellous serenity, exemplified here by the Concerto for Pipa (a kind of Chinese mandolin). In this piece you find evocations of the Russian balalaika, Neapolitan folk-song and even a medieval dance. It sounds like the worst kind of cross-cultural mélange, but it's done with such simplicity that, miraculously, it comes off. The soloist is Wu Man, who is to the pipa what Ravi Shankar was to the sitar, and her performance has a winning delicacy and tact. And the strings of the New Professionals live up to their name, playing with scrupulous precision in the slow movements and incisive energy in the fast ones.
--- Ivan Hewett, The Times (London), 11 December 2004, 4/5

For a full review about 'Lou Harrison: For Strings' please visit Mode Records - click here

"Shutter Island" Soundtrack Album 2010

Shutter Island

Buy this CD

"Shutter Island" Soundtrack album 2010
Major motion picture from Martin Scorcese starring
Leonard DiCaprio.

Produced by Robbie Robertson, Shutter Island: Music from the Motion Picture is a haunting double-disc soundtrack that features a stunning array of modern classical music.

Disc: 1

1. Fog Tropes - Orchestra of St. Lukes, conducted by John Adams
2. Symphony #3: Passacaglia - Allegro Moderato - National Polish Radio Symphony, conducted by Antonio Wit
3. Music For Marcel Duchamp - Philipp Vandre, prepared piano
4. Hommage a John Cage - Nam June Paik
5. Lontano - Wiener Philharmoniker, conducted by Claudio Abbado
6. Rothko Chapel 2 - UC Berkeley Chamber Chorus
7. Cry - Johnny Ray
8. On The Nature Of Daylight - Max Richter
9. Uaxuctum: The Legend Of The Mayan City Which They Themselves Destroyed For Religious Reasons - 3rd M - Vienna. Radio Symphony Orchestra; Peter Rundel, conductor
10. Quartet For Strings And Piano In A Minor - Prazak Quartet

Disc 2

1. Christian Zeal and Activity - John Adams / Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony
2. Suite For Symphonic Strings: Nocturne - The New Professionals Orchestra, conducted by Rebecca Miller
3. Lizard Point - Brian Eno
4. Four Hymns, II For Cello And Double Bass - Torleif Thedeen & Entcho Radoukanov
5. Root Of An Unfocus - John Cage
6. Prelude - The Bay - Ingram Marshall
7. Wheel Of Fortune - Kay Starr
8. Tomorrow Night - Lonnie Johnson
9. This Bitter Earth / On The Nature Of Daylight - Dinah Washington & Max Richter